Kübler-Ross Change Curve®

In 1969, Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross wrote about the “5 Stages of Death” also known as the “5 Stages of Grief®” , “5 Stages of Loss®” , or just “The 5 Stages.” She identified these stages as defense mechanisms or coping mechanisms to change, loss, and/or shock. The stages were not meant to described as linear, nor in a step by step manner. However, for the sake of written description, they have been laid out in the now famous DABDA (Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, Acceptance) manner as it is a common path taken. Since the publication of “On Death & Dying” (1969), the stages have been adapted into the “Kübler-Ross Change Curve™” of which we offer several illustrations on this web page.

Kübler-Ross Change Curve®

Kübler-Ross Change Curve®

Declaration and Call-to-Action on Palliative Care & COVID-19

Witnessing, with the rest of the world, the overwhelming physical, social, emotional and spiritual suffering COVID-19 is inflicting on infected persons and their families globally;

Recognizing that palliative care is aimed at prevention and management of serious health-related suffering;

Observing with great concern that the persons infected with COVID-19 are isolated from their families, and may never see them again;

read more >

(close box)